• Reza Rejaie portrait

    Prof. Reza Rejaie is the program committee co-chair of the Sixteenth Multimedia Computing and Networking (MMCN'09) Conference. For 16 years, the multimedia computing and networking conference has brought together researchers, practitioners and developers to contribute new ideas in all facets of... Read more

    Updated: Jul 3, 2017
  • Group of students working on a computer for the programming contest

    UO CIS and UO Information Services hosted the ACM Pacific Region Programming Contest at the University of Oregon in Eugene on November 15, 2008. This was one of five sites where teams from the region competed to solve as many programming problems as they could during the five hour contest.

    UO teams compete in the Northwest Regionals against teams from Alaska, British Columbia,... Read more

    Updated: Jul 3, 2017
  • Vinton Cerf portrait

    Vinton Gray "Vint" Cerf is an American computer scientist who is the person most often called "the father of the Internet". His contributions have been recognized repeatedly, with honorary degrees and awards that include the National Medal of Technology, the Turing Award, and the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

    Cerf presented his lecture, "Tracking the internet into the 21st century" at... Read more

    Updated: Jul 5, 2017
  • Picture of the side of Deschutes Hall, facing the entrance, taken next to the sundial

    The CIS department seeks applicants for one or more full-time tenure-track faculty positions beginning fall, 2009. We anticipate appointments at the rank of Assistant Professor; however, in the case of exceptionally qualified candidates appointments at any rank may be considered. The CIS department is housed within the College of Arts and Sciences and part of the recently dedicated Lorry Lokey... Read more

    Updated: Jul 3, 2017
  • Reza Rejaie portrait

    Congratulations to Reza Rejaie for his promotion to Associate Professor with tenure in the department of Computer and Information Science!

    Reza's promotion letter summarizes his tenure case as follows: "You have established an impressive reputation as one of the most influential peer-to-peer systems researchers in the nation. External reviewers remarked consistently on your profile... Read more

    Updated: Jul 3, 2017
  • Jun Li Portrait

    Congratulations to Jun Li for his promotion to Associate Professor with tenure in the department of Computer and Information Science, in recognition of his outstanding contributions in research, teaching, and service.

    Prof. Li's research focuses on Internet security topics including worm detection, Internet routing forensics, protected client-to-client data sharing, and Internet source... Read more

    Updated: Jul 3, 2017
  • COGAIN 2008 Logo

    Associate Professor Anthony Hornof will represent the University of Oregon as the keynote speaker at the annual COGAIN (COmmunication by GAze INteraction) conference, to be held in September, 2008, in Prague. COGAIN is a European-Union funded program that is... Read more

    Updated: Jul 3, 2017
  • Server farm through fish-eye lense

    Students working on University degree requirements will find CIS Summer Session both practical and fun.

    Three courses are in the Science group: CIS 111 Web Programming with JavaScript & AJAX, CIS 122 Algorithms & Programs with Python, and CIS 170 Science of Programming with Ruby.

    JavaScript, Python and Ruby are all excellent languages for Web Developers... Read more

    Updated: Jul 3, 2017
  • Point logo

    The National Science Foundation recently awarded a $2.19 million grant to the UO and its partners for POINT (Petascale Productivity from Open, Integrated Tools). The other institutions sharing in the grant are the University of Tennessee, the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA) and the Pittsburgh Supercomputing Center.

    UO computer science professor, Allen Malony, is... Read more

    Updated: Jul 3, 2017
  • Four CIS grad students have recently received scholarship awards:  Nazanin Magharei, Aroon Nataraj, Toby Ehrenkranz, and Scott Brooks.

      Read more

    Updated: Jul 3, 2017